Award Recipients

Food science and technology matters. Professionals in the field improve availability, nutrition, and safety of the world’s food supply. They bring scientific and technological innovation to an increasingly global marketplace. They give back to the community through teaching and leadership. 

IFT is thrilled to announce the 2019 Achievement Award Recipients!

Nicolas Appert Award

D. Julian McClements, PhD, University of Massachusetts

Babcock-Hart Award

Hang Xiao, PhD, University of Massachusetts

William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching

M. Monica Giusti, PhD, The Ohio State University

Carl R. Fellers Award

Colin Dennis, PhD, CFS, IFIS Publishing and British Nutrition Foundation (BNF)

W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Christiani Jeyakumar Henry, PhD, National University of Singapore

Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award

Mary Kay Pohlschneider, PhD, The Ohio State University

Myron Solberg Award

Ken Lee, PhD, The Ohio State University

Bor S. Luh International Award

Valenti B. Alvarez, PhD, The Ohio State University

Gerhard Haas Achievement Award

Ahmed Yousef, PhD, The Ohio State University

Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research

Han-Seok Seo, PhD, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

Research and Development Award

Lisa Mauer, PhD, Purdue University

Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award

Suzanne Pecore, Sensory Science Consultant

Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award

Kiyoko Kubomura, PhD, Kubomura Food Advisory Consultants