Additional IFT Awards

The Riester-Davis-Brody Award

The Riester-Davis-Brody Award recognizes lifetime achievement and the top innovators in food packaging technology. It was established in 1986 to memorialize Don Riester (American Can) and Rees Davis (Continental Can), and it was amended in 2015 to recognize the many contributions of Aaron Brody (Packaging/Brody Inc).  These three individuals were pioneers in this field who helped found the IFT Food Packaging Division.  The award is presented at IFT's annual meeting after the Food Packaging Division business meeting.

Criteria & Eligibility

  • The awardee will be a member of IFT Food Packaging Division or will have been a member during a majority of his/her tenure of accomplishment.
  • The awardee will be selected by a jury consisting of members appointed by the executive committee of IFT Food Packaging Division.
  • The award will be based solely on achievement in food packaging technology in which the awardee was the key person.
  • The award will be for continuing achievement and not for a single event.
  • The achievement may be in research, development, teaching, communication, commercialization, etc. It will not be for service in IFT Food Packaging Division. This criteria does not preclude long time volunteers in IFT Food Packaging Division, many of whom can be regarded as good candidates.
  • Achievement is innovation in action: concepts that function; developments that advance food packaging; research that leads beyond current frontiers; ideas that spark students; etc. A flood of impractical ideas is not achievement. The application of science to food protection through packaging is imperative.
  • Each candidate's achievements must be judged on their own merits by the Selection Committee.

Selection Process

  • A call for nominees will be made by the Chair of the Selection Committee to IFT Food Packaging Division members in Q3 of each year and the Awardee will be identified by November 1st.
    • If there are no qualified nominees, there will be no award in the year.
    • All nominees not selected for the award will be carried over to the following year for reconsideration.


The awardee will deliver a brief lecture at an IFT Food Packaging Division event such as the Annual Symposium.  Suitable topics include the awardee’s career experiences, advances in packaging technology, or future opportunities for packaging research.  A reprint of this award lecture will be distributed to the IFT Food Packaging Division and to food packaging students.

A plaque with the citation will be presented as a token of the award.

There is no cash component to the award, but IFT will reimburse the awardee for approved travel expenses up to $1,000 USD to attend the Annual Meeting and receive the award. 


2018 Jung H. Han, Pulmuone Foods USA

2017 E Jeffery Rhodehamel, Clemson University

2016 Brian Wagner, HAVI

2015 Gordon Robertson, University of Queensland, Australia

2014 Tom Dunn, Flexpacknology LLC

2013 No Awardee Selected

2012 No Awardee Selected

2011 No Awardee Selected

2010 Kay Cooksey, Clemson University

2009 Joe Marcy, Virginia Tech

2008 John Krochta, University of California, Davis

2007 Marcus Karel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Theodore LaBuza, University of Minnesota

2006 Tom Powers, Multisorb Technologies, Inc.

2005 Stan Kopecky, William Wrigley Jr. Co.

2004 Anne Bieler, Food Technology Concepts

2003 Charles Barmore, Sealed Air Corporation

2002 Michael Rooney, CSIRO

2001 Bruce Harte, Michigan State Univerity

2000 Barbara Blakistone, NFPA

1999 Marvin Tung, University of Guelph

1998 Larry Bell, Fresh Express Farms

1997 Ray Bourque, Ocean Spray

1996 No Awardee Selected

1995 Rauno Lampi Natick Labs

1994 Lyle Ernst, American Can

1993 Burt Lundquist, Swift

1992 Dick Perdue, Cryovac

1991 Tee Downes Michigan State University

1990 Mike Gigliotti, MGA

1989 Seymour Gilbert, Rutgers University

1988 Aaron Brody, Rubbright Brody, Inc.

1987 Arnold Kopetz, American Can

1986 Don Riester, American Can

Rees Davis, Continental Can