Achievement Awards

Current Time 0:00
Duration Time 0:46
Loaded: 0%
Progress: 0%
Stream TypeLIVE
Remaining Time -0:00

IFT’s Achievement Awards recognize an individual or team for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the food science and technology industry.

Nominations for the 2020 Awards will open in October 2019

To learn more about the Achievement Award process, please review the Nomination Guide below:

How to Nominate:

IFT has implemented a new award portal powered by Wizehive applications systems. This portal will make it easier and more efficient for nominators and will streamline the juror review process. The system looks different from past award systems, please familiarize yourself with the instructions for submission and allow yourself ample time to nominate. If you have any questions or issues, please email  

Review Achievement Award programs below for an overview of award offerings.

For details of each award, click on the award link to review specific criteria, eligibility and instructions.

Follow the nomination steps on each award page to submit completed nomination by December 9th.

If a letter of reference is required, please select a reference for your nominee who is professionally acquainted with the nominee and have them complete a reference letter on their own professional letterhead.

The letter should state why the nominee deserves to win the award based on the person’s professional knowledge of the nominee.

The reference letter must be submitted at the same time of the nomination. The reference must provide the nominator with the reference letter to submit along with all nomination materials.  The reference will not submit the reference letter separately.

Members of the Jury (whose names are kept confidential) for the Award and IFT staff members are not eligible to serve as references. If we receive a Reference Letter from an ineligible nominee, we will notify you (if time permits).

It is your responsibility to ensure the reference submits the reference letter by December 9th. In order to give the reference adequate time, it is recommended that you contact the reference by the end of October and share the submission deadline.


Excellence in Leadership (Teaching, Service, Leadership)
Carl R. Fellers Award
Honors an IFT member and Phi Tau Sigma member for their distinguished career in the food science and technology profession, and who has displayed exemplary leadership, service, and communication skills.

Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award (Not available in 2020)
Awarded in odd years only.
Awarded for the pursuit of humanitarian ideals and unselfish dedication to the food industry, academia, students, or the general public.

Myron Solberg Award (Not available in 2020)
Awarded in odd years only.
Honors leadership in industry/government/academia cooperative organization.

Nicolas Appert Award
Honors an IFT member or nonmember for contributions to the field of food technology.

William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching
Awarded for achieving excellence in teaching food science and technology.
Global Impact
Bor S. Luh International Award
Honors an IFT member or an institution whose outstanding efforts in the field of food technology resulted in international exchange of ideas; better international understanding; and/or practical successful transfer of food technology to an economically depressed area.

W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Honors an IFT member working in academics, research institutes or the government, whose emerging research has made substantial advances on how foods can be better manufactured and made available for developing countries.
IFT Leadership
Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award
Honors an individual who has provided continuing, meritorious and imaginative service to IFT.
Babcock-Hart Award
Awarded for food technology contributions that resulted in improved public health through nutrition or more nutritious food.

Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award
Awarded in even years.
Awarded for contributions to food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation.

Gilbert A. Leveille Award and Lectureship
Joint award with the American Society for Nutrition. Awarded by IFT even years only.
Recognizes outstanding research and/or public service in nutrition and food science, over a period of five years or more.

Gerhard J. Haas
To honor an IFT member for creative research in microbial aspects of food safety.

Food Technology Industrial Achievement Award
Honors an industrial scientist or team of industrial scientists for technical contribution or significant advancement in the application of food science and technology to food production.

Marcel Loncin Research Prize
Awarded in even years.
To award research funding for basic chemistry/physics/engineering research applied to food processing.

Research and Development Award
Awarded for significant research and development contribution to the understanding of food science, food technology, or nutrition.

Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research
Awarded for outstanding research in food science and technology.

Sensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award
Recognizes excellence within the sensory and consumer sciences field.

Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science
Awarded in even years.
Awarded for significant contributions to lipid or flavor science.

Trailblazer Award & Lectureship

Awarded by IFT in even years only.
Honoring the advancement of science at the nexus of nutrition or dietetics and food science for a least five (5) years.
2019 Award Nominations

IFT has implemented a new award portal powered by Wizehive applications system. Click here for step by step instructions to submit a nomination.